Conservation Plans

Community-based conservation and stewardship is a key goal of the Canadian IBA Program. To help achieve this, we continue to develop conservation plans in partnership with local stakeholders for priority Important Bird Areas. These stakeholders include landowners, naturalists, hunters, government agencies and municipalities, aboriginal groups, and scientists. Together, we have developed straightforward conservation plans that stimulate local priority conservation actions at IBA sites.

Why are Conservation Plans Important?

These plans provide valuable roadmaps for achieving conservation successes at Important Bird Areas. In many cases they have also stimulated the formation of local IBA conservation groups who are working to deliver the priority actions spelled out in the plans.

For example, the Eastern Cape Sable Island Local IBA Committee is using ideas set out in the conservation plan to deliver educational programs to children and adults who live in or near the IBA. This IBA, the southernmost accessible point of Nova Scotia, is largely unprotected and is home to extensive shorelines used by many breeding and migrating birds, including endangered Piping Plovers. Building community awareness of the birds and habitats of the IBA is an essential element of protecting this vulnerable site.

Conservation Plans


British Columbia


New Brunswick

Newfoundland and Labrador

Nova Scotia


Prince Edward Island




Roseate Tern
Photo: © Shutterstock

Harlequin Duck
Photo: © Larry Kirtley



Red Knots
Photo: © iStock Photo



Photo: © Shutterstock


Canada goose
Photo: © Shutterstock



On the lookout!
Photo: © Shutterstock



Piping Plover and young
Photo: © Brendan Toews



Semipalmated Sandpiper
Photo: © Shutterstock
The IBA Program is an international conservation initiative coordinated by BirdLife International. The Canadian co-partners for the IBA Program are Bird Studies Canada and Nature Canada.
   © Bird Studies Canada

Plans de conservation

La conservation et l’intendance à l’échelle communautaire constituent un objectif clé du programme des ZICO au Canada. Pour y parvenir, nous continuons d’élaborer, en partenariat avec des intervenants locaux, des plans de conservation pour les ZICO prioritaires. Ces intervenants sont des propriétaires fonciers, des naturalistes, des chasseurs, des agences gouvernementales, des municipalités, des groupes autochtones et des scientifiques. Ensemble, nous avons élaboré des plans de conservation simples qui stimulent localement la prise de mesures de conservation prioritaires des ZICO. 

Pourquoi les plans de conservation sont-ils importants?

Les plans de conservation sont de précieuses feuilles de route pour l’atteinte de résultats en matière de conservation dans les ZICO. Dans de nombreux cas, ils ont également donné lieu à la formation de groupes locaux de conservation qui travaillent à l’application des mesures prioritaires définies dans les plans.

Par exemple, le comité de la ZICO du cap oriental de l’île de Sable s’inspire des idées contenues dans le plan de conservation pour offrir des programmes de sensibilisation destinés aux enfants et adultes qui habitent dans la ZICO ou à proximité de celle-ci. La ZICO du cap oriental de l’île de Sable, qui forme le point le plus au sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse, est en grande partie non protégée. Son littoral accueille de nombreux oiseaux en période de reproduction ou de migration, notamment le pluvier siffleur, qui, on le sait, est menacé d’extinction. Pour protéger ce site vulnérable, il est primordial de mieux faire connaître les oiseaux et leur habitat.

Plans de conservation 

Alberta

Colombie-Britannique

Île-du-Prince-Édouard 

Manitoba

Nouveau-Brunswick 

Nouvelle-Écosse 

Ontario

Québec

Saskatchewan

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 

 

 

Sterne de Dougall
Photo: © Shutterstock


 
 
Arlequin plongeur
Photo: © Larry Kirtley

 

 

Bécasseau maubèche
Photo: © iStock Photo

 

 


Chevalier semipalmé
Photo: © Shutterstock
 

 


Bernache du Canada
Photo: © Shutterstock

 

 


À l'affût!
Photo: © Shutterstock

 

 


Pluvier siffleur et les jeunes
Photo: © Brendan Toews

 

 


Bécasseau semipalmé
Photo: © Shutterstock
 
 
 
Le programme des ZICO est une initiative de conservation internationale coordonnée par BirdLife International. Les co-partenaires canadiens du programme des ZICO sont Études d'Oiseaux Canada et Nature Canada.
   © Études d'Oiseaux Canada