Are Canada's IBAs Protected?

In a minority of cases (e.g., countries within the European Union), IBAs are recognized and regulated as protected areas. In Canada, this is not the case. Here, IBAs are afforded varying degrees of mandated protection if they overlap with one of our officially designated protected areas (e.g., National and Provincial Parks, Wildlife Reserves, etc.). The degree of protection is directly related to the management objectives of our protected areas: some sites prohibit human access, while in others, natural resources can be harvested, etc. While it is true that unprotected IBAs are potentially subject to a wider range of human activities, many activities can be compatible with bird use, including hunting, ranching, farming, and recreational pursuits. Birds and people can and do co-exist in many cases. This is particularly true in northern IBAs, where aboriginal communities rely on the landscape as traditional hunting grounds.

The below graphs illustrate, on national and regional scales, the extent of overlap of IBAs by designated protected areas, and also the degree of protection afforded our IBAs based on the IUCN management classes of the overlapping protected areas. The results of these analyses underscore the need for local community involvement in conserving IBAs, and the need to consider IBA values in local decision making and land-use planning. The protection status of individual IBAs can be viewed from site summary pages.
 

Extent of Overlap (National)

Fig. 1

Extent of Overlap (National) is a national summary of the extent to which Canada's IBAs are overlapped by designated protected areas. Most IBAs are not protected: Almost 70% (402 IBAs) overlap very little (<20% by area) or not at all with protected areas, and just 8% (51 IBAs) are entirely overlapped by a protected area.


Extent of Overlap (Regional)

Fig. 2

Extent of Overlap (Regional) is a regional comparison of the extent to which IBAs are overlapped by designated protected areas. Example: In AB, 22 of 47 IBAs are overlapped to some extent by a protected area. 79% (or 37) of AB’s IBAs overlap very little (<20% by area) or not at all with protected areas.


Type of Protection (National)

Fig. 3

Type of Protection (National) is a national summary of the degree of protection afforded to those IBAs that overlap protected areas. Nationally, the extent and frequency of overlap is split almost evenly between protected areas offering the greatest degree of protection (~54%; IUCN Categories IA, IB, and II) and those offering the lowest degree of protection (~46%; IUCN Categories III to VI). See legend below.  


Type of Protection (Regional)

Fig. 4

Type of Protection (Regional) is a regional summary of the degree of protection afforded to those IBAs that overlap protected areas. IUCN management categories 1A, 1B, and II (green) offer the highest level of protection, whereas categories III to VI (blue) offer the lowest. See legend below.

Legend (Figures 3 and 4 above)

IA: Strict Nature Reserve (outstanding unaltered ecosystems/species; scientific research/monitoring permitted); IB: Wilderness Area (large unaltered/slightly altered protected areas; no permanent/significant habitation); II: National Park (managed mainly for ecosystem protection and recreation/tourism; may allow product removal/habitation); III: Natural Monument (1+ rare/unique natural or cultural features); IV: Habitat/Species Management (actively managed to maintain habitats/species); V: Protected Land/Seascape (historically human altered; managed areas); VI: Managed Resource Protected Area (sustainable use of natural products/services to meet community needs); N/D: Unclassified. Notes: International designations were not considered in the analysis. There may be multiple, overlapping protected area polygons within an IBA; therefore, percentages in Figures 3 and 4 refer to the share of cumulative overlap represented by each protection category at the national or regional level.

The IUCN management categories are recognized by international bodies and by many national governments as the global standard for defining and recording protected areas. Learn more.


Download spatial data for Canada's IBAs and Canada's designated protected areas.
Contact iba@birdscanada.org for more information.
 

The IBA Program is an international conservation initiative coordinated by BirdLife International. The Canadian co-partners for the IBA Program are Bird Studies Canada and Nature Canada.
   © Bird Studies Canada

Les ZICO sont-elles protégées?

Dans une minorité de cas (par exemple, les pays de l'Union européenne), les ZICO sont reconnus et réglementés comme des zones protégées. Au Canada, ce n'est pas le cas. Ici, les ZICO bénéficient divers degrés de protection obligatoire s'ils se chevauchent avec un de nos officiellement désignées zones protégées (par exemple, les parcs nationaux et provinciaux, réserves fauniques, etc.) Le degré de protection est directement liée aux objectifs de gestion de nos aires protégées: certains sites interdire l'accès de l'homme, tandis que dans d'autres, les ressources naturelles peuvent être récoltés, etc. S'il est vrai que les ZICO non protégés sont potentiellement sujettes à un plus large éventail de ressources humaines activités, de nombreuses activités peuvent être compatibles avec l'utilisation d'oiseaux, y compris la chasse, l'élevage, l'agriculture et les activités récréatives. Oiseaux et les humains peuvent et doivent co-exister dans de nombreux cas. Cela est particulièrement vrai dans les ZICO du Nord, où les communautés autochtones comptent sur le paysage comme terrains de chasse traditionnels.

Les graphiques ci-dessous illustrent, à des échelles nationales et régionales, le degré de chevauchement des ZICO en désignées zones protégées, ainsi que le degré de protection de nos ZICO basé sur les classes de gestion de l'UICN des zones de chevauchement protégées. Les résultats de ces analyses soulignent la nécessité de l'implication des communautés locales dans la conservation des ZICO, et la nécessité de tenir compte des valeurs des ZICO dans la prise de décision au niveau local et l'aménagement du territoire. Le statut de protection des ZICO individuels peuvent être consultés à partir de pages de résumé du site.
 

Mesure de chevauchement (National)

Fig. 1

Mesure de chevauchement (National) est un résumé national de la mesure dans laquelle les ZICO du Canada sont recouvertes par des zones protégées. La plupart des ZICO ne sont pas protégés: Près de 70 % (402 ZICO) se chevauchent très peu (< 20 % en région) ou pas du tout avec les aires protégées, et seulement 8 % (51 ZICO) sont entièrement recouverte par une zone protégée.


Mesure de chevauchement (Régional)

Fig. 2

Mesure de chevauchement (Régional) est une comparaison régionale de la mesure dans laquelle IBA sont recouverts par des zones protégées. Exemple: En Alberta, 22 sur 47 ZICO se chevauchent dans une certaine mesure par une zone protégée. 79 % (ou 37) des ZICO AB se chevauchent très peu (< 20 % en région) ou pas du tout avec les aires protégées.


Type de protection (National)

Fig. 3

Type de Protection (National) est une synthèse nationale du degré de protection accordé à ces ZICO qui chevauchent les aires protégées. Au niveau national, l'étendue et la fréquence de recouvrement est divisé presque également entre les aires protégées offrent le plus haut degré de protection (~ 54 %; Catégories UICN IA, IB et II) et ceux qui offrent le plus bas degré de protection (~ 46 %; catégories de l'UICN III à VI). Voir la légende ci-dessous.


Type de protection (Régional)

Fig. 4

Type de Protection (Régional) est une synthèse régionale du degré de protection accordé à ces ZICO qui chevauchent les aires protégées. Catégories de l'UICN de gestion 1A, 1B et II (vert) offrent le plus haut niveau de protection, alors que les catégories III à VI (bleu) offrent la plus faible. Voir la légende ci-dessous.

Légende (figures 3 et 4 ci-dessus)

IA : Réserve naturelle intégrale (écosystèmes/espèces intacts exceptionnels; recherche scientifique/surveillance permise); IB : Zone de nature sauvage (vastes aires protégées intactes/légèrement modifiées; sans/peu nombreuses habitations permanentes); II : Parc national (aire gérée principalement aux fins de la protection de l’écosystème et des loisirs/du tourisme; utilisation des ressources/habitations peut être permises); III : Monument naturel(1+ caractéristiques naturelles ou culturelles rares/uniques); IV : Aire de gestion des habitats/espèces (aires gérées de manière active pour conserver les habitats/espèces); V : Paysage terrestre/marin protégé (modifiés par les humains au fil du temps; aires gérées); VI : Zone de gestion de ressources protégées (utilisation durable des ressources/services écologiques pour satisfaire aux besoins des collectivités); N/D : Non déterminé. Notes : Les désignations internationales n'ont pas été pris en compte dans l'analyse. Dans une ZICO Il peut y avoir plusieurs polygones d'aires protégées qui se chevauchent; Par conséquent, les pourcentages des figures 3 et 4 renvoient à la part des chevauchements cumulatifs représentés par chaque catégorie de protection au niveau national ou régional.

Les catégories de gestion de l'UICN sont reconnus par les instances internationales et de nombreux gouvernements nationaux comme la norme mondiale pour la définition et l'enregistrement des zones protégées. En savoir plus.


Télécharger des données spatiales pour les ZICO du Canada et du Canada des zones protégées.
Contacter iba@birdscanada.org pour plus d'informations.
 

Le programme des ZICO est une initiative de conservation internationale coordonnée par BirdLife International. Les co-partenaires canadiens du programme des ZICO sont Études d'Oiseaux Canada et Nature Canada.
   © Études d'Oiseaux Canada