IBA Réserve nationale de faune des Îles-de-Contrecoeur
Contrecoeur, Québec
Site Summary
QC125 Latitude
Longitude
45.885° N
73.235° W
Elevation
Size
20 m
20.75 km²
Habitats:
deciduous woods (temperate), rivers/streams, freshwater marsh
Land Use:
Unknown
Potential or ongoing Threats:
Disturbance, Interactions with native species/disease
IBA Criteria: Globally Significant: Congregatory Species, Colonial Waterbirds/Seabird Concentrations
Conservation status: National Wildlife Area (federal)
Restricted access for IBA coordinators
Login name: Password:

Login


View in mobile


Site Description
The Contrecoeur Islands are situated in the St. Lawrence River, approximately 75 km downstream from Montréal, near the village of Contrecoeur. There are 29 islands spread over a 10 km stretch, from Île au Dragon in the west to Île au Coeur de Pierre in the east. In spring, some islands are completely submerged. The islands are almost completely vegetated with grasses (mostly Canary Grass) and areas of emergent grass link some of the islands. Vegetation in the shallower marshes is comprised of cattails, rushes and arrowheads. A small Red Ash grove remains on one of the islands.
Birds
The Contrecoeur Islands are a globally significant breeding site for Ring-billed Gulls, with an average of 11,761 pairs breeding throughout the 1990's. This is over 1% of the global population. Black Tern, Common Tern, Herring Gull, and Great Black-backed Gull also nest on the islands.

This site is a good breeding area for dabbling ducks. In particular, Gadwall nest on the islands in high densities. This site is also an important spring staging area for Bufflehead and Common Goldeneye. More than 2% of the total St. Lawrence River population of these two species may stage on the Contrecoeur archipelago.

The site has a diversity of marsh-breeding birds, including: American Bittern, Common Moorhen, Black Tern, Pied-billed Grebe, Virginia Rail, Marsh Wren and Swamp Sparrow. In addition, Savannah Sparrow, Song Sparrow, and Willow Flycatcher are common in tall grass and shrubby areas. Almost a third of the province's breeding population of Wilson's Phalarope occur in the archipelago, and there are also small populations of Nelson's Sharp-tailed Sparrow and Sedge Wren. Great Blue Herons also raise young here. In late summer, emergent grasses on the north shore of St. Ours Island are a roost for thousands of swallows. Between one and three Caspian Terns have been seen in the breeding season, but breeding has not been confirmed.




IBA Criteria
SpeciesT | A | I Links Date Season Number G C N
Ring-billed Gull 1991 - 2009 SP 19,294 - 28,198
Ring-billed Gull 1991 - 2000 SU 22,718 - 31,764
Note: species shown in bold indicate that the maximum number exceeds at least one of the IBA thresholds (sub-regional, regional or global). The site may still not qualify for that level of IBA if the maximum number reflects an exceptional or historical occurrence.
 
Conservation Issues
Accidental or purposeful human disturbance and red fox predation could both potentially affect the health of this colony.
Fish Habitat
This zone is rich in aquatic vegetation beds and wetlands in the island area. Its is a area presenting a great potential for spawning for many species of fish, including the northern pike, the walleye black, the brown bullhead, the smallmouth bass and the yellow perch. Some other species, such as lake sturgeon, use spawning ground located in fast flowing waters. More than 53 species are found in this area. Various species are targeted by commercial and sport fishing, including the American shad, which attracts many anglers during the spawning period in late May and early June. The region is also home to the copper redhorse, endangered specie endemic to Québec; the lake sturgeon which is considered as threatened in Québec; and the American eel, a species of least concern.

The destruction of spawning and aquatic habitats in wetlands threatens the reproductive success of the ichthyofauna. The cases are multiple and include artificialization of the shoreline, the agriculture practiced on islands, the presence of resorts, the recreational and commercial boating (bank erosion by waves). In addition, some species, such as walleye, are affected by the decrease in water quality, mainly created by industrial activities in the region as well as municipal and agricultural pollution. The rainbow smelt, once abundant in this area, has disappeared because of the destruction of its spawning sites in small tributaries.


Major species present:
American eel
American shad
Brown bullhead
Copper redhorse
Lake sturgeon
Northern pike
Sauger
Spottail shiner
Walleye
Yellow perch

Plants
Habitats in this area are characterized by high sedimentation. The contributions of many tributaries, such as Richelieu and Saint-François rivers, are largely responsible for the suspended material. This sedimentation promotes the formation of marshes and wet meadows. We found there vast submerged meadows dominated by Wild celery and Eurasian water-milfoil. Emergent marshes are colonized by bulrushes, arrowhead and cattails. Several duck species forage in these areas, including the scaup that is fond of Wild celery.

Shoreline erosion, whether due to natural factors (wind, cycles of freezing and thawing, no ice to protect the banks in spring) or human (waves caused by passing ships), threatens riparian habitats. Variations in the water level in the river corridor affect the ecology of plant and animal species that live there. A significant and prolonged decrease of immersion banks could affect flora by promoting the growth of plant species over land, nature and even shrubby tree. In addition, the spread of invasive species exerts considerable pressure on the native flora of these habitats.


Major species present :
Wild celery
Eurasian water-milfoil
Narrow leaf cattail
Broad-leafed cattail
Sessilefruit arrowhead
Broad-leafed arrowhead
American bulrush
Great bulrush

The IBA Program is an international conservation initiative coordinated by BirdLife International. The Canadian co-partners for the IBA Program are Bird Studies Canada and Nature Canada.
   © Bird Studies Canada

ZICO Réserve nationale de faune des Îles-de-Contrecoeur
Contrecoeur, Québec
Résumé de Site
QC125 Latitude
Longitude
45,885° N
73,235° O
Altitude
Superficie
20 m
20,75 km²
Habitats:
forêt de feuillus (tempérée), rivière ou cours d'eau, marais d'eau douce
Usages:
Inconnue
Menaces potencielles ou existantes:
dérangement des oiseaux, interactions avec les espèces indigènes ou maladie
Catégorie: significative au niveau mondial: espèce(s) grégaire(s), concentrations d'oiseaux aquatiques ou marins coloniaux
Status de protection: Réserve nationale de faune (fédéral)
Accès réservé pour les coordonnateurs des ZICO
Nom d'usager: Mot de passe:

Accès


Site mobile


Description du site
Les îles de Contrecoeur sont situées à l'intérieur du fleuve Saint-Laurent, à environ 75 km en aval de la ville de Montréal, près de la localité de Contrecoeur. L'archipel comprend 29 îles qui s'étalent sur une longueur de plus de 10 km, de l'île au Dragon, à l'ouest, à l'île au Coeur de Pierre, à l'est. Au printemps, certaines îles sont complètement submergées. Les îles sont presque entièrement recouvertes d'herbes (principalement de roseaux). On retrouve également de vastes herbiers émergents entre certains îlots. Les marais moins profonds sont, quant à eux, peuplés de quenouilles, de scirpes et de sagittaires. Une petite frênaie rouge subsiste également sur une des îles.
Oiseaux
Les îles de Contrecoeur s'avèrent un site de nidification significatif au niveau mondial pour le Goéland à bec cerclé. On y a en effet enregistré une moyenne de 11 761 couples au cours des années 90, ce qui équivaut à plus de 1 % de la population mondiale pour cette espèce. La Guifette noire, la Sterne pierregarin, le Goéland argenté et le Goéland marin nichent également à cet endroit.

Le site constitue également une importante aire de nidification pour les canards barboteurs. Ceci est particulièrement vrai pour le Canard chipeau qui y est présent en bon nombre. Au printemps, les îles sont également une importante aire de repos pour le Petit Garrot et le Garrot à oeil d'or. Plus de 2 % de la population totale du Saint-Laurent pour ces deux espèces peut être aperçue à cet endroit.

Le site héberge aussi une grande diversité d'oiseaux nichant dans les marais, tels que le Butor d'Amérique, la Gallinule poule-d'eau, la Guifette noire, le Grèbe à bec bigarré, le Râle de Virginie, le Troglodyte des marais et le Bruant des marais. Les Bruants des prés et chanteur et le Moucherolle des saules s'avèrent, quant à eux, des espèces communes des milieux composés de hautes plantes herbacées et d'arbustes. Le site accueille également près du tiers de la population nicheuse de Phalaropes de Wilson de la province ainsi qu'un petit nombre de Bruants de Nelson et de Troglodytes à bec court. Le Grand Héron y est aussi présent durant la même saison. La Sterne caspienne y a aussi été observée durant cette période, mais aucune mention de nidification n'a encore été rapportée. À la fin de l'été, des milliers d'hirondelles utilisent également les herbiers qui se trouvent au nord de l'île Saint-Ours comme dortoir.




IBA Criteria
EspèceT | A | I Liens Date Saison Nombre G C N
Goéland à bec cerclé 1991 - 2009 SP 19 294 - 28 198
Goéland à bec cerclé 1991 - 2000 SU 22 718 - 31 764
Note: les espèces en gras dans ce tableau indiquent que le nombre maximum d'oiseaux à ce site excède au moins l'un des seuils de population (national, continental ou global). Il se peut que le site ne se qualifie pas à ce niveau de ZICO se nombre maximum correspondait à une observation exceptionnelle ou à une donnée historique.
 
Enjeux de conservation
Le dérangement volontaire ou non par les humains et la prédation causée par le renard roux sont des facteurs potentiels qui pourraient affecter les oiseaux.
Habitat du Poisson
Le site, riche en herbiers aquatiques et milieux humides dans les secteurs insulaires, constitue une aire de fraie à fort potentiel pour de nombreuses espèces de poissons, dont le grand brochet, le doré noir, la barbotte brune, l'achigan à petite bouche et la perchaude. Certaines autres espèces comme l'esturgeon jaune utilisent plutôt les frayères disponibles en eaux vives. Plus de 53 espèces fréquentent ce secteur. Diverses espèces y font l'objet de pêche commerciale et sportive, notamment l'alose savoureuse qui attire de nombreux pêcheurs à la ligne durant la période de fraie, à la fin mai et au début juin. La région accueille également plusieurs espèces en péril tels le chevalier cuivré, un poisson endémique du Québec en voie de disparition, l'esturgeon jaune, une espèce menacée au Québec, et l'anguille d'Amérique, une espèce préoccupante au Québec.

La destruction des frayères et des habitats aquatiques en milieux humides menace le succès de reproduction des populations ichthyennes. L'artificialisation des rives, l'agriculture sur les îles, la villégiature ainsi que la navigation de plaisance et commerciale (érosion des rives par le batillage) en sont les principales causes. De plus, certaines espèces, comme le doré jaune, sont affectées pas la diminution de la qualité de l'eau, principalement attribuable aux activités industrielles de la région ainsi qu'à la pollution agricole et municipale. L'éperlan arc-en-ciel, autrefois abondant dans ce secteur, l'a délaissé en raison de la destruction des frayères situées dans les petits tributaires du fleuve.

Principales espèces présentes :
Alose savoureuse
Anguille d'Amérique
Barbotte brune
Chevalier cuivré
Doré jaune
Doré noir
Esturgeon jaune
Grand Brochet
Méné queue à tache noire
Perchaude
Flore
Les habitats de ce secteur se caractérisent par une sédimentation importante. Les apports des nombreux affluents, comme les rivières Richelieu et Saint-François, en sont responsables en grande partie. Cette sédimentation favorise la formation de marais et de prairies humides. On y retrouve de vastes herbiers submergés dominés par la vallisnérie américaine et le myriophylle à épi. Les marais émergents sont peuplés par les scirpes, les sagittaires et les quenouilles. Plusieurs espèces de canards s'alimentent dans ces milieux, dont les fuligules qui affectionnent particulièrement la vallisnérie américaine.

L'érosion des berges, que ce soit en raison des facteurs naturels (vents, cycles de gel et de dégel, absence de glace pour protéger les berges au printemps) ou humains (vagues provoquées par le passage des navires), menace les habitats riverains. Les variations du niveau d'eau dans le corridor fluvial influencent l'écologie des espèces végétales et animales qui y vivent. Une diminution importante et prolongée des périodes d'immersion des berges pourrait avoir des conséquences sur la flore en favorisant la croissance d'espèces végétales plus terrestres, à caractère arbustif et même arborescent. En outre, la propagation d'espèces envahissantes exerce des pressions considérables sur la flore indigène de ces habitats.

Principales espèces présentes :
Vallisnérie américaine
Myriophylle à épi
Quenouille à feuille étroites
Quenouille à feuilles larges
Sagittaire dressée
Sagittaire latifoliée
Scirpe d'Amérique
Scirpe des étangs

Le programme des ZICO est une initiative de conservation internationale coordonnée par BirdLife International. Les co-partenaires canadiens du programme des ZICO sont Études d'Oiseaux Canada et Nature Canada.
   © Études d'Oiseaux Canada